60 A is not the frame
It is a current field for the complete product or trip setup. It does not state the largest current offered in that case family.
There is no universal frame-size answer for a 60 A breaker. First identify the breaker class. A 60 A MCCB may use a 60 A, 100 A, 125 A, 160 A, 225 A, or named frame, depending on the product family. A modular MCB may not use AF/AT language at all.
A 630 A MCCB product example; it does not establish the frame for a 60 A breaker. Photo: Dmitry G / Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0. Cropped and darkened for layout. No manufacturer endorsement is implied.
The full catalog number and maker data establish the construction.
For a molded-case circuit breaker (MCCB), 60 A may be the complete breaker rated current, a fixed trip-unit ampere value, or an adjustable long-time setting. The case may belong to a larger ampere frame or a named family. A miniature circuit breaker (MCB) is normally selected by series, rated current, poles or module width, trip curve, voltage, and short-circuit rating. Do not assume “60AT equals 60AF” or “60A always needs 100AF.”
It is a current field for the complete product or trip setup. It does not state the largest current offered in that case family.
A breaker does not normally open the instant current moves just above 60 A. Overload response is time-dependent.
These are common vendor or project abbreviations. Their meaning must come from the selected product file.
It does not prove voltage, poles, dimensions, breaking capacity, panel fit, conductor protection, or approval.
The same ampere number can appear on devices with different construction, standards, uses, mounting systems, and short-circuit duties. Classify the device before you ask for a frame.
A DIN-rail MCB is often described by rated current, poles, curve, module width, voltage, and the applicable short-circuit rating, such as Icn under IEC 60898-1. Some makers may mention a family limit, but AF/AT is not the normal universal buying key.
An MCCB family can share a case across several current ratings. The trip may be fixed, adjustable, interchangeable, sensor-based, or rating-plug based. This is the main frame-size context.
A plug-on or bolt-on branch breaker must match the listed panel system and its conditions. A similar body or handle value does not make another breaker an approved replacement.
In the United States, a compact UL 1077 supplementary protector is not intended to replace the UL 489 branch-circuit protection required by the installation.

A modular MCB may be a 60 A product in a named series. Its module count and poles help define its physical form. Its curve and the applicable voltage-specific short-circuit or interrupting rating help define its protective performance. That still does not make “60AF/60AT” the correct universal description.
An MCCB may put a 60 A trip configuration inside a larger construction family. That larger family can support other trip units, accessories, poles, terminals, or short-circuit options. The exact data sheet tells you which parts are fixed and which can vary.
For residential device context, see the upgraded house MCB rating guide. It keeps main, assembly, and branch ratings separate.
Manufacturers do not use every symbol in the same way. Read the definitions in the exact catalog, not a generic AF/AT chart.
| Field | What it can mean | What it does not prove | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| Frame size / AF / Inm | A maker-defined construction family or the highest current rating available in a related group, depending on the catalog convention. | It does not state the installed long-time setting, exact dimensions, poles, voltage, or fault-interrupting ability. | Family name, frame code, frame limit, standard, and maker definition. |
| Rated current (In) | The current rating assigned to the complete breaker or trip configuration under its product data. | It is not the current at which the breaker must open instantly. | Reference ambient, mounting, terminals, conductor limits, and time-current curve. |
| Ampere trip (AT) | Common vendor or project shorthand for a trip-unit ampere rating. | It is not a universal standard symbol and is not automatically the same as Ir. | Trip-unit catalog number, fixed or adjustable status, and maker glossary. |
| Long-time pickup (Ir) | The long-time or overload pickup value stated by the product data. It may be fixed or adjustable. | It does not by itself state sensor size, frame, instantaneous setting, or interrupting rating. | Fixed or adjustable status, range, step size, relation to In, sensor, rating plug, and approved access rules. |
| Sensor / rating plug | A product-specific input that can set or limit the trip unit's usable current range. | It does not make every setting safe for the conductor or load. | Exact sensor, plug, firmware, trip unit, and permitted combinations. |
| Poles and neutral | The number and type of switched or protected current paths. | It is not a cosmetic option. It can change width, terminals, voltage, and short-circuit data. | One-line diagram, grounding, neutral treatment, phase system, and pole-specific ratings. |
| Interrupting / breaking rating | A voltage-specific short-circuit performance value tested under a stated standard. | A larger frame does not guarantee a larger rating. UL and IEC labels are not interchangeable. | UL interrupting rating or IEC Icu/Ics, plus Icm/Icw when applicable. |
| Physical dimensions | Width, height, depth, terminal location, operating mechanism, and mounting form. | A “100 A frame” is not a millimeter measurement and a photo has no reliable scale. | Dimension drawing, cutout, handle, bus connection, terminal kit, and clearances. |
The molded case supports insulation, terminals, current paths, contacts, and operating parts. The trip system senses a protected condition and releases the mechanism. Some products use fixed thermal-magnetic elements. Others use adjustable magnetic or electronic functions.
A fixed ampere rating does not prove that every magnetic value is fixed. An electronic trip unit may relate Ir to a sensor or rating plug. Accessories can add shunt trip, undervoltage release, indication, or communications. The full product file controls each option.
This cutaway is a de-energized 30 A specimen. It cannot be used to infer a 60 A frame. Never open, repair, or inspect the inside of an installed breaker as a field identification method.
Examples explain the method. They do not create a cross-brand substitution chart.
Siemens lists catalog 3VA4160-6ED34-0AA0 with UL Frame 125, rated current In of 60 A, and Ir permanently set at 60 A. It is a three-pole device.
The same product entry gives an instantaneous value of 10 times In and voltage-specific short-circuit data. This is strong proof that 60 A does not require a 60 A frame.
Eaton lists PDG24F0060P2YL as Frame 2, 60 A, four pole, and 600 Vac. Its published UL and IEC short-circuit values change with the applied voltage and rating system.
Eaton's MCCB catalog shows that Frame 2 spans a much wider current family. “Frame 2” is a maker family, not a 60 A physical-size formula.
Some product tables use “frame rating In” for each catalog current within one wider construction family. Other documents use frame only for the family maximum.
This is why a generic chart can fail. Quote the exact heading, product code, standard, and source page. Do not translate every vendor term into a universal AF value.
Record the maker, series, complete catalog number, ampere mark, poles, voltage, frequency or DC marking, trip-unit code, interrupting data, terminals, and approval marks. Also record the panel or switchgear identity.
Do not measure a live or installed device from a photo. Do not assume that a body which enters the opening will connect to the correct bus, line up with the deadfront, accept the conductor, or retain the assembly rating.
Use the maker's dimension drawing for width, height, depth, mounting holes, cutout, handle position, terminal form, accessory space, and minimum clearances. A frame value is not a drawing.
Selection has to pass every gate below. One failed gate rejects the product even when the ampere value and outside size look right.
Name IEC 60898-1, IEC 60947-2, UL 489, or the other required product basis. Confirm the intended use and user category.
State AC or DC, voltage, frequency, phases, grounding, and source modes. Use the exact slash or straight-voltage marking rules.
Verify load duty, conductor ampacity, temperature, grouping, terminals, and any continuous-load or special-equipment rules. Frame size does not size cable.
Confirm In, Ir, short-time, instantaneous, ground-fault, and accessory functions as applicable. Use the coordination and time-current study.
Calculate available fault current at every source mode. Match the voltage-specific device and assembly conditions.
Confirm pole count, neutral treatment, common operation, terminal pattern, phase sequence, and any grounded-conductor rules.
Check panel, switchboard, switchgear, enclosure, bus, terminals, mounting, accessories, temperature rise, and maker substitution rules.
Keep data sheets, drawings, certificates, study results, settings, labels, test records, and the as-built one-line.
For a UL panelboard, use breaker types identified for that panel or a specifically Classified replacement within its named conditions. A breaker from another family can have a similar footprint yet use a different bus connection, retention method, terminal range, or trip design.
For an IEC assembly, follow the assembly maker's verified device combinations and substitution rules. A change can affect temperature rise, short-circuit performance, protection coordination, internal separation, and assembly verification or declared conformity.
The open panel shown here is context for record collection. It does not prove this installation is compliant or that any 60 A breaker will fit. Users should not remove the deadfront or reach near exposed parts. A qualified person must perform internal verification.

“Need one 60A breaker” is not enough for a reliable quote. Send the fields below so the supplier can check the product, trip, assembly, and site as one system.
Use the edition and national adoption required by the project. Then use the exact maker data for the product and assembly.
Edition 6 covers defined circuit breakers up to 1,000 V AC or 1,500 V DC for use by skilled or instructed persons. It defines product tests and ratings, not a cross-brand AF chart.
IEC 60898-1:2015+A1:2019 covers a defined class of AC air-break circuit breaker up to 125 A and 25 kA. Modular selection still depends on the exact series and installation.
The active edition covers molded-case circuit breakers, switches, and enclosures within its scope. Markings and listed combinations control the application.
The breaker must remain acceptable in its panel or switchgear. Physical fit cannot replace the approved device system, assembly short-circuit data, or substitution rules.
These answers support identification and procurement. They do not authorize live work, panel changes, breaker substitutions, or trip-setting changes.
No. Some MCCB families may pair a 60 A trip with a 100 A or larger frame, but other families use a 60 A, 125 A, 160 A, 225 A, or named frame. A modular MCB may not use AF terminology. Check the complete catalog number.
They commonly describe a 60 A trip-unit rating in a 100 A frame, but AT and AF are vendor or project shorthand rather than universal cross-standard marks. Confirm the exact maker definition, trip unit, sensor or rating plug, and permitted settings.
No. A frame names a construction family or catalog current boundary. It does not provide width, height, depth, mounting, terminals, cutout, or handle position. Use the exact dimension drawing for the catalog number and pole configuration.
Not from amperes or physical fit alone. The breaker must match the panel or switchgear, bus connection, voltage, poles, trip functions, terminals, fault ratings, accessories, and approved replacement rules. Use documented compatibility.
No. Short-circuit ratings are product-, voltage-, standard-, and configuration-specific. Verify the UL interrupting rating or IEC Icu and Ics, plus Icm or Icw where applicable, and the complete assembly or series-combination conditions.
No. The conductor must match the design load, protective setting, material, insulation, route, ambient, grouping, terminals, equipment rules, and local code. A larger breaker frame does not permit a higher setting or smaller conductor.
Record the maker, series, full catalog number, trip-unit code, poles, and panel identity. Then use the maker's data sheet, catalog key, marking guide, and dimension drawing. If the data cannot be collected safely, use a qualified person.
No. Frame, AF, AT, sensor, rating plug, and Ir language is most useful in MCCB families. Modular MCBs are normally identified by series, rated current, poles or module width, curve, voltage, and the applicable short-circuit rating, such as Icn under IEC 60898-1.
Send the country, standard, supply, load, conductor, fault current, panel or switchgear model, complete existing breaker marks, poles, trip functions, terminals, mounting, dimensions, accessories, environmental limits, quantity, and required certificates.
Send the breaker class, full markings, panel or switchgear data, supply, load, conductors, poles, fault study, trip functions, mounting, and certificates. SENTOP can help compare documented product-family options. Final design and installation approval remain with the qualified engineer, installer, product instructions, and local authority.
Product and project enquiry
Share the model, ratings, quantity and destination you already know. SENTOP will review the remaining selection details with you.
SENTOP Team
Typically replies within minutes
Do you want to learn more about our products or services?
Contact Us
🟢 Online | Privacy policy
Contact Us